Image Alt

Neath RFC

Neath RFC take the field for the first time since Thursday, March 12th, 2020 when they travel to Tata Steel on Saturday in the new Championship Cup.

Coach Patrick Horgan has named Neath’s team for the first outing with Iestyn Morgan, Ian Ellis and Jon Bayliss forming an exciting back three. Jarrad Rees and Ben Atkins are paired at centre with debutant Steff Williams from Resolven, the only newcomer behind the scrum, partnering Elis Horgan at half-back.

In the front row Jack Powell and Josh Clark appear alongside Gareth Lloyd. Another new recruit Sam Langford partners Jacob Blackmore in the second row and the back row features the returning Alun Jones, David Griggs and Owain Morgan.

Three experienced heads – Aaron Bramwell, Nicky Griffiths and Sion Crocker feature on the replacements’ bench alongside two young Neath Athletic products Morgan Thomas and Ciaran Comerford who are certain to make their debuts.

Rolling subs, scrums only after knock-ons, drop outs from the goal-line and several other new laws, permanent and temporary, will be employed.

The big kick off is at 2.30pm.

Neath v Tata Steel (Away)

15 Iestyn Morgan; 14 Ian Ellis, 13 Jarrad Rees, 12 Ben Atkins, 11 Jonathan Bayliss; 10 Steffen Williams, 9 Elis Horgan; 1 Jack Powell, 2 Josh Clark, 3 Gareth Lloyd; 4 Sam Langford, 5 Jacob Blackmore; 6 Alun Jones, 8 David Griggs, 7 Owain Morgan (Captain)

Replacements – 16 Sion Crocker, 17 Morgan Thomas, 18 Ciaran Comerford, 19 Nicky Griffiths, 20 Aaron Bramwell

Referee – Mr. Gareth Newman (Abergavenny)


Next Fixtures

Sat     August 14    Maesteg Quins                 Away           2.30pm

Fri     August 20    Birchgrove                      Home           7.15pm