Image Alt

Neath RFC

NEATH season tickets will go on sale at the end of the month and, according to media reports, there will be a better Premiership product on offer for supporters.

Following widespread discontent with last season’s arrangement, the Principality Premiership is set for a review which will entail pre-Christmas east and west conferences next season.

The governing body presented club representatives with several alternatives and the majority opted for an initial split based on geography with RGC 1404, based in Colwyn Bay, going in with the seven western clubs for the first phase.

RGC will join Aberavon, Bridgend, Carmarthen Quins, Llandovery, Llanelli, NEATH and Swansea who will play each other home AND away before the two conferences unite after 14 fixtures.

“Meritocracy” points will then be carried over into phase two when all 16 clubs will play each other once home OR away in a reverse of this season’s fixtures.

That will give 29 games played in total before the champions are crowned – and there will be no play-offs to decide the title.

If adopted by the WRU Board, this means Neath will host the 7 “western conference” sides and, in a straight reversal of 2016/17, Aberavon, Bargoed, Bridgend, Cross Keys, Llandovery, Merthyr and Pontypridd in the united Division.

That is 14 home League fixtures in all as opposed to the season just gone when Neath played 12 home League games and 3 Foster’s Cup games.