Image Alt

Neath RFC

It will hopefully be a case of “third time lucky” when Neath and Maesteg Harlequins try again at The Gnoll on Tuesday evening (kick off 7.15pm), the fixture having been postponed twice – last week and earlier in December when frost intervened.

A bonus point win against Maesteg Harlequins would see Neath on equal points with Pontypool at the top of the WRU Championship again-  if only for a short tenure – and the Blacks know that they must keep winning (with bonus points) to keep Bargoed at bay.

Maesteg Harlequins were well beaten 11-49 at Beddau on Saturday but they always do well against Neath who will need to be on their guard as they expect the Quins to strengthen with a few permit players.

Due to unavailabilities, Neath make three changes from the side named for last week’s postponed game. Regular skipper Ryan Evans returns with Owain Morgan fit again in the back row where he is joined by the third Kneath brother Fergus who starts alongside Evan and Morgan for the first time – a case of “Kneath, Kneath, Kneath”.

Neath v Maesteg Harlequins (Home)

15 Aled Brew; 14 James Roberts, 13 Ryan Evans (captain), 12 Sean Wilcox, 11 Louis Rees; 10 Steff Williams, 9 Luc Jones; 1 Gareth Lloyd, 2 Evan Kneath, 3 Tim Ryan; 4 Ioan Jones, 5 Matthew Davies; 6 Owain Morgan, 8 Morgan Kneath, 7 Fergus Kneath

Replacements –  16 Chris Morris, 17 Jack Powell, 18 Jacob Blackmore, 19 Nicky Griffiths, 20 Rhys Harris

Referee – Mr. Simon Mills (New Dock Stars)

Remaining Fixtures :-

Neath are still awaiting Ystrad Rhondda to agree a date for the re-arranged fixture. Otherwise, the full list of remaining fixtures is now :-


Sat     Apr    29      Maesteg Harlequins         A        2.30pm        Championship

Sat     May      6      Glamorgan Wanderers     A        2.30pm        Championship

Wed   May    10      Cross Keys                       H       7.15pm        Championship

Wed   May    17      Cross Keys                       A        7.15pm        Championship

Sat     May    20      Beddau                           A        2.30pm        Championship