Image Alt

Neath RFC

Neath RFC’s congratulations go to Neath Schools Under-11’s who play and train at The Gnoll on winning the DC Thomas Bowl.

U11 DC Thomas Bowl Final: Neath 20-15 Pembrokeshire (by WRU)

A Jackson Evans try in the final minute sealed glory for Neath Schools as they beat Pembrokeshire Schools four tries to three in a thrilling DC Thomas Bowl Final at Principality Stadium.

Scores from Jacob Williams, Osian Morgan, Jenson Williams and Jackson Williams were enough for Neath, who had to come from behind after Iori Williams, Billy Lamb and Leo Werner had put Pembrokeshire ahead.

Neath Schools head coach Craig Fulford-Astley said :

“Wow. It was an unbelievable game and there was no deserved winner really. The game was really tight but I am super proud of the boys. We have year five and six children in there so it is a real mix. We’ve had a tough season but we are very proud of what the boys have achieved here today and what a try it was to win it at the end.”

Neath enjoyed the better first half, scoring first as Jacob Williams sped down the left wing to score in the corner. Pembrokeshire then clawed their way back into contention to equalise as the ball was popped up for Iori Williams and he bundled over the line. However, it was Neath who took a narrow lead into the interval as Osain Morgan crashed his way through the defensive line to touch down.

Pembrokeshire immediately equalised at the start of the second half with a fantastic Billy Lamb solo score. This was added to as Leo Werner showed skill and composure to burst past the entire Neath defence to give his side the lead for the first time in the game.

Neath found a way back into the game as Tomos Morgan completed a beautiful offload to Jenson Evans to score and level the game once more. The drama was not over yet, Neath vice-captain Jackson Evans scored in the last minute to seal victory for his side.

DC Thomas Bowl Final Teams

Neath Schools:Osian Morgan (YGG Castell Nedd), Zak George (Blaenhonddan Primary), Jenson Evans (Abbey Primary), Tomos Morgan (Cilffriw Primary), Jackson Evans (Maesmarchog Primary), Bobby Bramwell (Crynallt Primary), Isaac Parfitt (captain, YGG Blaendulais), Jacob Williams (Cilffriw Primary), Harrison Jones (Abbey Primary), Jack Thomas (YGG Castell Nedd), Mya Richards (Cilffriw Primary), Ioan James (YGG Castell Nedd), Olly Steinmann (Carreg Hir Primary), Cora Potter (Maesmarchog Primary), Harrison Morgan (YGG Castell Nedd), Luca Topper (Bryncoch CIW Primary), Charlie Evans (Coedffranc Primary), Flynn Roberts (YGG Castell Nedd)

Pembrokeshire Schools:Jamie Cook (Pembroke Dock Community School), Iwan Wright (Saundersfoot CP), Iori Williams (Ysgol Arberth), Billy Lamb (Croescgoch CP), Jevan Guymer (captain, Tenby Primary School), Karter Williams (Neyland Community CP), Mesake Catalina (Neyland Community CP), Cody Culshaw (Penrhyn VC), Harri Underwood (Cleddau Reach School), Toby Jones (Holy Name RC), Tomos Nicholas (Brynconnin CP), Ollie Harper (Roch CP), Leo Werner (Saundersfoot CP), Will Haines (Templeton CP), Ethan Brace (Tenby VC), Tyler Ayres (Penrhyn VC)