Image Alt

Neath RFC

The Neath club’s congratulations go to Shane Williams who has been inducted into the World Rugby “Hall of Fame” – and is the first Neath player to be accorded the honour.

World Rugby (formerly known as the IRB) makes an annual selection of inductees with previous recipients ranging from players to administrators and even Nelson Mandela.

The only previous links with Neath RFC were Wales’ Ieuan Evans who, of course, made his first-class debut for Neath and Eshane-autographngland’s W.W. Wakefield who married a Neath girl and played several holiday games for the Welsh All Blacks.

The World Rugby Hall of Fame panel is chaired by World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont and it includes Chris Rea (Scotland), Gerald Davies (Wales), Keith Quinn (New Zealand), Jim Webster (Australia), Pablo Mamone (Argentina), Henri Garcia (France), Don Cameron (New Zealand), David Hands (England) and panel secretary Chris Thau.