Category: Supporters Club News

Time Running Out to Secure Hall of Fame Tickets

With just a little over a month to go and with just two home games remaining this
season, fans are being urged to buy their Hall of Fame night tickets as soon as

The event which takes place on Friday May 20th will see Paul Thorburn, Allan
Bateman, Glyn Shaw, Jeremy Pugh, and Courtenay Meredith inducted into the Hall of

A spokesman for Neath Rugby Supporters Club said “The Hall of Fame night is always
eagerly anticipated by Neath rugby fans and in just a few years has become a firmly
established end-of-season event”.

Previous years Hall of Fame nights have proven to be very popular and have sold out.
The spokesman added “Once again this year, tickets for the evening have been
selling extremely well.  We would strongly urge anyone who wants a ticket to buy one
as soon as possible”.

Fans wishing to secure their places at the event can buy tickets from the Neath
Rugby Supporters Club at this season’s remaining home games, against Llanelli (16th
April) and Cross Keys (23rd April).

For more information e-mail or call 07943 567994.
Tickets cost just £5 for supporters club members and £8 for non-members.

The Hall of Fame is sponsored by R&SD Risk Management

Vote for Neath Rugby Supporters Club’s Player of the Year

Neath Rugby Supporters Club are inviting members to vote for their Player of the Year.

supporters-club-player-award-2014-5-reducedBetween now and the end of the season, members can cast their vote and have their say on who they think deserves to follow in the footsteps of last year’s winner Alex Humphrey.

Despite a difficult season in which wins have been scarce, there can be no doubt the players have given it everything. So, now we want to know who you think the standout performer was – who gave it their all, week in, week out? Who impressed you the most?

Members who wish to vote can visit the supporters club table in the clubhouse at either of the two remaining home games this season (16th & 23rd April). You can also email your selection to – ensure you include your name and your supporters club membership number.

The winner will be announced in the Hall of Fame night on Friday 20th May.

So getting thinking, and make sure you vote for your favourite player.

Please note:
Voting is only open to Neath Rugby Supporters Club members.
One vote per member.
Closing date for voting – Friday 6th May

Hall of Fame on Friday 20th May

Who’s in? – 2016 Hall of Fame inductees revealed
Following months of nominations and careful deliberations, the five inductees into the 2016 Neath Rugby Supporters Club have been chosen.

The five Neath greats will be inducted into the hall at a special celebration evening on Friday 20th May.

The chosen five are (in no particular order):

Paul Thorburn
Full back Paul Thorburn was an integral part of the Neath team during the club’s golden era. A strong runner and world-class goal kicker, Throburn played in three consecutive cup finals and was a member of two league winning squads.

He won 37 caps for Wales, scoring a then record 304 points. He landed a number of memorable kicks for Wales, not least a last minute conversion to secure third place in the inagural World Cup and the monster 64 metre penalty against Scotland in 1986 – still the world’s longest penalty goal.

Allan Bateman
Allan Bateman joined Neath in 1989 and formed a potent midfield partnership with Colin Laity. Famed for his clamp-like tackling and silky skills, Bateman played in the 1989 and 1990 cup winning teams. He ‘went north’ in 1990 before retuning to Rugby Union in 1996 and returned to the Gnoll in 2001.

He won 35 caps for Wales and one for the Lions.

Jeremy Pugh
Jeremy Pugh was an important member of the the Neath team during the golden era of the 1980/90s. The popular tight head prop played in cup and league winning teams and featured in the memorable 1989 match against New Zealand. He made his debut for Wales against USA in 1987, but surprisingly only won three caps. Jeremy joins front row colleagues Brian Williams and Kevin Phillips in the NRSC Hall of Fame.

Glyn Shaw
Prop forward Glyn Shaw was a mainstay of the Neath pack during the 1970s. Equally at home on both the loose head and tight head of the scrum, Shaw went on to win 12 caps for Wales between 1972 and 1977. He later went to Rugby League, playing for Widnes and Wigan and appearing in several Challenge Cup finals.

Courtenay Meredith
Legendary prop forward Courtenay Meredith was the cornerstone of the formidable Neath pack of the 1950s. His prowess was duly recognised with 14 caps for Wales. He was called up for the 1955 Lions tour to South Africa, making 14 appearances, including four test matches. He formed an all Welsh front row alongside Billy Williams and Bryn Meredith – a feat that wasn’t repeated until 2009.

These five players will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday 20th May, where they will be awarded with their commemorative caps.

Tickets for the evening will be on sale at Neath’s remaining home games this season. Tickets cost £5 for supporters club members and £8 for non-members.

The Hall of Fame is sponsored by R&SD Risk Management.